AVISTA Officers and Directors


The Board of Directors is composed of 15 members, each serving a 3-year term. Each year at the general meeting at Kalamazoo, five board members are elected, thereby ensuring continuity every year of ten board members. The executive committee consists of the President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, and two members of the Board of Directors.

Executive Committee Officers and Board of Directors



George Brooks (Valencia College)
East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Tr.
Orlando, FL 32825-6402


Maile Hutterer (Univ. of Oregon)


Amanda Dotseth (Meadows/Mellon/Prado Postdoctoral Fellow, Meadows Museum, SMU)


Sarah Thompson (Rochester Institute of Technology)
School of Art, College of Imaging Arts and Sciences
73 Lomb Memorial Drive, Rochester, NY 14623-5603

Publications Director

Jennifer M. Feltman (Univ. of Alabama)

New Media Working Group

Lindsey Hansen (Indiana Univ.)
Matthew Landrus (Rhode Island School of Design)
Zachary Stewart (Texas A&M Univ.)

Prizes and Grants Committee

Robert Bork (Univ. of Iowa), Abby McGehee (Oregon College of Art & Craft), and Sean Winslow (Univ. of Toronto)

Board Reps to the Exec. Committee

Steven Walton (Michigan Technological Univ.)
Zachary Stewart (Texas A&M Univ.)

Presidents (ex officio)

Vibeke Olson (Univ. of North Carolina–Wilmington)
Department of Art and Art History

Steven A. Walton (Michigan Technological Univ.)
Dept. of Social Sciences

Robert Bork (Univ. of Iowa)
School of Art and Art History

Lynn T. Courtenay, FSA
Emerita, Art Department, Univ. of Wisconsin-Whitewater

  • Board of Directors
Terms ending in 2018

  • Rob Bork, Univ. of Iowa
  • Barbara Bowers, Ohio State University
  • Andrew Tallon, Vassar College
  • Sarah Thompson, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Anne Van Arsdall, Univ. of New Mexico

Terms ending in 2019

Steven Walton, Michigan Technological Univ.

Terms ending in 2020

  • Mickey Abel, Univ. of North Texas
  • George Brooks, Valencia College
  • Jennifer M. Feltman, Univ. of Alabama
  • Ellen Shortell, Massachusetts College of Art
  • Richard Sundt, Univ. of Oregon
  • Sean Winslow, Univ. of Toronto

Honorary Lifetime Members

  • Carl Barnes (†2012), Charles Stegeman (†2013), Marie-Thérèse Zenner, William W. Clark


AVISTA is a formal, not-for-profit organization, governed by a Board of Directors and Executive Committee according to the bylaws herein given.


AVISTA is incorporated at the following address:
Department of Art and Art History
Bucknell University
Lewisburg, PA 17837

Leave a Reply